Mighty Appetity

Two friends duo-vouring L.A. one restaurant at a time

Ago

Leave a comment

Staci

Ago, created in partnership with Robert De Niro, has been a leader in upscale Tuscan Cuisine for upwards of 17 years.  Just steps away from our first restaurant, Lucques, Ago was a peaceful, mid-week lunch spot.  We started with the Calamari alla Piastra, a delicious dish of fresh grilled calamari with green beans, black olives and cherry tomatoes.  Subtle and satisfying….and a squeeze of fresh lemon every few minutes sent me on a one-way trip Happyland.  I followed it up with a generous piece of white bass coated with a potato and zucchini crust and sauteed spinach.  Very fresh and lovely.

So here is the odd thing:  Admittedly, this was a lovely meal………but as I reflect back on it, I have to admit that I don’t see myself racing back to Ago anytime soon.  Or Lucques.  They were both very good.  I just know that there are some meals that I rave about and can’t wait to have again and that was distinctly missing at both spots.  What is the X Factor?  I want something that I can’t wait to share with other people.  Jitlada was much closer and I can see myself going back there when I’ve got Thai on the mind.  It’s the difference between a nice guy who will do and the one who you can’t stop thinking about….

IMG_1051

Calamari alla Piastra

IMG_1052

White bass with spinach

Elkeer

I  shared the Calamari alla Piastra with Staci. That alone would actually make me come back! It was crispy and with a squeeze of lemon it brought me to delicious oblivion! I almost wished I had it all to myself. For the entree, I ordered the Branzino Al Forno. A whole grilled mediterranean seabass served with sautéed spinach. It was light and paired well with the spinach. It was a lovely whole fish that was deboned table side (what a treat)! I prefer not to work for my food.

IMG_0344       img_0345

I did enjoy the atmosphere and the food, but I must comment on the service. Our waiter was less than attentive, which was surprising and a bit frustrating. It’s not like the restaurant was packed with many tables to be tended to. We were the only two out there until another pair was seated. That alone would not make me want to return.

It was a lovely day and a lovely meal with a lovely lady. We are so fortunate to live so close to so many wonderful choices. Now, if the service and the food would complement one another, this would be an awesome place!

Off to our next culinary adventure!

 

Leave a comment